The Virginia Microelectronics Consortium

The Virginia Microelectronics Consortium was formed in 1997 to foster education and research in support of the microelectronics industry in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Membership includes seven universities and two microelectronics companies. One of the principle activities of the consortium is to support a summer research internship program. Students from member universities spend a summer at another Virginia university or at one of the industry members gaining valuable experience in microelectronics. Biographies of VMEC professors can be found here.

Our Mission:
  • State wide education, research, and development in micro-, nano-electronics, and related fields.
  • Assist semiconductor industry in Virginia by providing expert help, educated engineers, and scientists.


Executive Committee

Operations Committee

BAE Systems Steve Danziger Dave Bostedo
College of William and Mary Dr. Virginia Torczon Dr. Seth Aubin
George Mason University Dr. Ken Ball Dr. Qiliang Li
Micron David Cheffings Zuzana Steen (Summer Scholars Chair)
Old Dominion University Dr. Oktay Baysal Dr. Helmut Baumgart
Norfolk State University Dr. Larry Mattix Dr. Sacharia Albin
University of Virginia Dr. Jim Aylor Dr. Lloyd Harriott
Virginia Commonwealth University Dr. Barbara Boyan Dr. Gary Atkinson
Virginia Military Institute Dr. Shawn Addington
Virginia Tech Dr. Dick Benson Dr. Masoud Agah

Website maintained by A. Lukaszew and S. Aubin. Best viewed at a resolution of 1366 x 768 using Google Chrome.            This website is hosted on environment friendly servers from Green Geeks.